Conditions upon arrival

After their arrival in Switzerland, migrants are faced with their integration into working life. Not all migrants start under the same conditions and thus encounter different obstacles to accessing education and the labour market.

Education and requests for equivalence

19% of people aged between 15 and 74 with upper secondary qualifications were trained abroad. Although only 1% of the population without a migration background and 5% of persons from the 2nd generation were trained abroad, this was the case for 68% of persons from the 1st generation.

Few people trained abroad make use of the possibility of having their foreign diploma recognised by Switzerland. 15% request equivalence and 83% do not. 2% provide no information about any such requests. 13% of people with upper secondary level and 15% of those with tertiary level make such a request.

Nearly three quarters of those who made a request said that they had obtained the equivalence. The number of people that state they obtained an equivalence is greater among persons with tertiary education than those with upper secondary education. However, this difference is not statistically significant. 72% of persons who did not request equivalence thought they did not need it to carry out their job and 7% thought that the procedure was too complicated, too expensive or too time-consuming. The remaining 21% cite other reasons.

Requests for equivalence, 2017
  %
Request 14.5
Equivalence obtained
68.2
Equivalence not obtained 19.2
Being processed 12.6
No request
83.1
Equivalence not necessary
71.6
Process too complicated
7.0
Other reason
21.4
No indication 2.4
Source: FSO - SLFS, migration module

Employment

Within the first generation of the population with a migration background who came to Switzerland for professional reasons (self-reported), 68% had already found a job in this country before immigrating. 31% of people who came to Switzerland for the same reason had not found a job prior to arrival.

Language skills

Language skills have considerable influence on the type of activities that migrants can engage in, especially on the labour market but also in terms of their successful integration into society. A good command of one of Switzerland’s national languages can be seen as both an essential requirement and as the result of successful integration.

In 2014, the majority of the permanent resident population aged 15 to 74 who were born abroad had either mother tongue or advanced language skills in one of the official languages of their canton of residence (62%).

Further information

Tables

Methodologies

Language skills: Percentage of the permanent resident population aged 15 to 74 who were born abroad with oral language skills in one of the official languages of their canton of residence:

- Beginner or no oral language skills;

- Intermediate;

- Mother tongue or advanced.

Publications

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Demography and Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/internationale-wanderung/bedingungen-ankunft.html

Bedingungen bei der Ankunft

Nach ihrer Ankunft in der Schweiz stellt sich für Migrantinnen und Migranten die Frage nach der beruflichen Eingliederung. Je nach Ausgangslage sehen sie sich mit unterschiedlichen Hindernissen beim Zugang zu Bildung und Arbeitsmarkt konfrontiert.

Ausbildung und Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung

19% der Personen zwischen 15 und 74 Jahren mit einem nachobligatorischen Abschluss haben diesen im Ausland erworben. Lediglich 1% der Personen ohne Migrationshintergrund und 5% der Bevölkerung mit Migrationshintergrund der zweiten Generation haben ihre Ausbildung im Ausland absolviert. Bei der ersten Generation sind es hingegen 68%.

Nur wenige Personen (15%) beantragen eine Anerkennung (Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung) ihres ausländischen Abschlusses, 83% stellen keinen Antrag und 2% äussern sich nicht dazu. 13% der Personen mit einem Abschluss auf Sekundarstufe II und 15% derjenigen mit einem Tertiärabschluss unternehmen diesen Schritt.

Nahezu drei Viertel der Antragstellenden geben an, die Bescheinigung erhalten zu haben. Personen mit einem Tertiärabschluss erhalten sie tendenziell häufiger als Personen mit einem Abschluss auf Sekundarstufe II. Von den Personen, die keine Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung beantragt haben, erachten 72% diese für die Ausübung ihrer Tätigkeit nicht als notwendig und 7% empfinden das Verfahren als zu kompliziert, zu teuer oder zu zeitaufwändig. Die restlichen 21% geben andere Gründe an.

Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung, 2017
  %
Antrag gestellt
14.5
Bescheinigung erhalten
68.2
Bescheinigung nicht erhalten
19.2
Entscheid noch hängig
12.6
Kein Antrag gestellt
83.1
Bescheinigung nicht notwendig
71.6
Verfahren zu kompliziert
7.0
Andere Gründe
21.4
Ohne Angabe
2.4
Quelle: BFS - SAKE, Migrationsmodul

Beschäftigung

Die Bevölkerung mit Migrationshintergrund der ersten Generation, die nach eigenen Angaben aus beruflichen Gründen in die Schweiz gekommen ist, hat zu 68% bereits vor der Migration eine Stelle gefunden. 31% dieser Personen sind in die Schweiz gekommen, ohne vorgängig eine Stelle gefunden zu haben.

Sprachkompetenzen

Sprachkompetenzen haben einen grossen Einfluss auf die Arbeitsmarktchancen und die gesellschaftliche Integration der Migrantinnen und Migranten. Das Beherrschen einer Landessprache ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung und zugleich ein Ergebnis der erfolgreichen Integration.

2014 hatte die Mehrheit (62%) der im Ausland geborenen ständigen Wohnbevölkerung zwischen 15 und 74 Jahren fortgeschrittene oder muttersprachliche Kenntnisse einer der Amtssprachen ihres Wohnkantons.

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellen

Methodologie

Sprachkompetenzen: Anteil der im Ausland geborenen ständigen Wohnbevölkerung zwischen 15 und 74 Jahren nach mündlichen Sprachkenntnissen in einer der Amtssprachen ihres Wohnkantons:

- Anfängerniveau oder gar keine Kenntnisse;

- mittleres Sprachniveau;

- fortgeschrittene oder muttersprachliche Kenntnisse.

Publikationen

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Demografie und Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10

CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/internationale-wanderung/bedingungen-ankunft.html