Data Science Competence Center DSCC

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) is a service provider within the federal administration and as such, provides data science services and expertise to the entire Swiss public sector and administration (Confederation, cantons and communes). The competence center builds on the existing synergies of an interconnected network of academic partners, in close collaboration with the public research and development sector, to provide state-of-the-art data science expertise.

Figure legend:

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) in the public Swiss data science ecosystem.
CNAI: Competence Network for Artificial Intelligence.

Data science in brief

Data science is the science of learning from data (or making sense of data), with the aim of gaining insights from data in order to  facilitate data-driven decision-making. Data science covers the entire process of problem formulation, data collection, data selection, data preparation, data analysis, evaluation, interpretation, communication and provision of the findings. At the heart of data science is thus a problem-solving process and a process of continuous improvement that aims to solve complex, unstructured and data-rich problems through the rigorous application of innovative data science methods (e.g. methods from machine learning and the field of artificial intelligence), techniques and practices.

Figure legend:

Data science is a rigorous and documented process of data-driven problem-solving and continuous improvement.

Vision

We use data science and develop skills for the public good in the whole of Switzerland.

Mission

We work at the crossroads between data science and artificial intelligence. We build skills and apply the appropriate methods, techniques and practices to obtain a new understanding and to improve decision-making for the public good.

Our core values

Our core values are information security, data protection, data security, data governance, non-discrimination, explainability, transparency, reproducibility, neutrality, objectivity, ethical treatment of data, results and public confidence in the implementation of all the data science services. For example, the results of the individual projects (as far as permitted by data protection laws and other provisions) are documented in a transparent manner and made available.

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) thus strives to generate value in a sustainable way.

Further information

Publications

Press Releases

Links

Contact

Federal Statistical Office
Data Science Competence Center DSCC

Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuch√Ętel
Switzerland

Contact

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/dscc/dscc.html

Kompetenzzentrum für Datenwissenschaft DSCC*

* Data Science Competence Center

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Datenwissenschaft (DSCC) stellt als Dienstleistungsanbieter innerhalb der Bundesverwaltung dem öffentlichen Sektor und den Verwaltungen der Schweiz (Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden) sein Fachwissen im Bereich Datenwissenschaft zur Verfügung. Das DSCC nutzt die bestehenden Synergien der akademischen Fachkreise, um in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem öffentlichen Forschungs- und Entwicklungssektor modernstes Knowhow im Bereich Datenwissenschaft bereitzustellen.

Legende der Abbildung:

Kompetenzzentrum für Datenwissenschaft (DSCC): Teil des öffentlichen datenwissenschaftlichen Ökosystems der Schweiz.
CNAI: Kompetenznetzwerk für künstliche Intelligenz.

Datenwissenschaft in Kürze

Datenwissenschaft ist die Wissenschaft des Lernens aus Daten (des Datenverstehens). Sie zielt darauf ab, aus Daten Erkenntnisse für eine faktenbasierte Entscheidfindung zu gewinnen. Die Datenwissenschaft umfasst den gesamten Prozess von der Problemformulierung über die Erfassung, Auswahl, Vorbereitung und Analyse von Daten bis zur Evaluation, Interpretation, Kommunikation und Bereitstellung der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse. Im Zentrum der Datenwissenschaft stehen somit ein Problemlösungsprozess sowie ein Prozess der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung, der darauf abzielt, komplexe, unstrukturierte und datenreiche Probleme anhand innovativer datenwissenschaftlicher Methoden (z.B. Methoden aus dem maschinellen Lernen und dem Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz), Techniken und Praktiken zu lösen.

Legende der Abbildung:

Datenwissenschaft umfasst strenge, dokumentierte Prozesse der datengesteuerten Problemlösung und kontinuierlichen Verbesserung.

Vision

Wir wenden Datenwissenschaft an und entwickeln Kompetenzen für das Gemeinwohl in der ganzen Schweiz (for public good).

Mission

Wir arbeiten im Grenzbereich der Datenwissenschaft und der künstlichen Intelligenz. Wir bauen Kompetenzen auf und wenden entsprechende Methoden, Techniken und Praktiken an, um ein neues Verständnis zu erhalten und die Entscheidungsfindung zum Wohl der Öffentlichkeit zu verbessern (for public good).

Grundwerte

Bei der Erbringung sämtlicher Datenwissenschaftsdienstleistungen wird unseren Grundwerten Informationssicherheit, Datenschutz, Datensicherheit, Datengovernance, Nichtdiskriminierung, Erklärbarkeit, Transparenz, Reproduzierbarkeit, Neutralität, Objektivität, ethischer Umgang mit Daten und Ergebnissen und öffentliches Vertrauen Rechnung getragen. Beispielsweise werden die Ergebnisse der einzelnen Projekte (soweit gemäss datenschutzrechtlichen und anderen Vorgaben zulässig) transparent dokumentiert und zur Verfügung gestellt.

Damit wird das Kompetenzzentrum für Datenwissenschaft (DSCC) seinem Ziel gerecht, nachhaltigen Mehrwert zu schaffen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Publikationen

Medienmitteilungen

Links

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Kompetenzzentrum für Datenwissenschaft DSCC

Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/dscc/dscc.html