Data Science Competence Center DSCC

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) is a service provider within the federal administration and as such, provides data science services and expertise to the entire Swiss public sector and administration (Confederation, cantons and communes). The competence center builds on the existing synergies of an interconnected network of academic partners, in close collaboration with the public research and development sector, to provide state-of-the-art data science expertise.

Figure legend:

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) in the public Swiss data science ecosystem.
CNAI: Competence Network for Artificial Intelligence.

Data science in brief

Data science is the science of learning from data (or making sense of data), with the aim of gaining insights from data in order to  facilitate data-driven decision-making. Data science covers the entire process of problem formulation, data collection, data selection, data preparation, data analysis, evaluation, interpretation, communication and provision of the findings. At the heart of data science is thus a problem-solving process and a process of continuous improvement that aims to solve complex, unstructured and data-rich problems through the rigorous application of innovative data science methods (e.g. methods from machine learning and the field of artificial intelligence), techniques and practices.

Figure legend:

Data science is a rigorous and documented process of data-driven problem-solving and continuous improvement.

Vision

We use data science and develop skills for the public good in the whole of Switzerland.

Mission

We work at the crossroads between data science and artificial intelligence. We build skills and apply the appropriate methods, techniques and practices to obtain a new understanding and to improve decision-making for the public good.

Our core values

Our core values are information security, data protection, data security, data governance, non-discrimination, explainability, transparency, reproducibility, neutrality, objectivity, ethical treatment of data, results and public confidence in the implementation of all the data science services. For example, the results of the individual projects (as far as permitted by data protection laws and other provisions) are documented in a transparent manner and made available.

The Data Science Competence Center (DSCC) thus strives to generate value in a sustainable way.

Further information

Publications

Press Releases

Links

Contact

Federal Statistical Office
Data Science Competence Center DSCC

Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuch√Ętel
Switzerland

Contact

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/dscc/dscc.html

Centre de compétences en science des données DSCC*

* Data Science Competence Center

Prestataire faisant partie de l’administration fédérale, le Centre de compétences en science des données (DSCC) fournit des services en matière de science des données et met son savoir-faire à la disposition de toutes les administrations publiques en Suisse (Confédération, cantons et communes). Dans le but d’apporter des compétences à la pointe du progrès, le centre de compétences met à profit les synergies existantes au sein d’un réseau interconnecté de partenaires universitaires et collabore étroitement avec le domaine recherche et développement du secteur public.

Légende:

Positionnement du Centre de compétences en science des données (DSCC) au sein de l’écosystème public suisse de la science des données.
CNAI: Réseau de compétences en intelligence artificielle.

Brève définition de la science des données

La science des données traite des ensembles de données pour en extraire des connaissances facilitant la prise de décisions. Elle couvre toutes les étapes du processus: formulation du problème, collecte, sélection, préparation et analyse des données, puis évaluation et interprétation des données, enfin communication et mise à disposition des résultats. Par conséquent, les processus de résolution de problèmes et d’amélioration continue constituent les pièces maîtresses de cette science. Conjointement, ces deux processus doivent permettre de résoudre des problèmes complexes, impliquant de grandes quantités de données dans un environnement non structuré, grâce à l’application rigoureuse de méthodes (apprentissage automatique, intelligence artificielle, etc.), de techniques et de pratiques novatrices.

Légende:

Recourant à une démarche d’amélioration continue, la science des données est un processus de résolution de problèmes rigoureux et documenté.

Vision

Nous recourons à la science des données et développons des compétences pour le bien commun dans toute la Suisse (for public good).

Mission

Nous travaillons à la frontière entre la science des données et l’intelligence artificielle. Nous développons des compétences et utilisons les méthodes, techniques et pratiques requises pour créer une nouvelle compréhension du domaine et pour faciliter la prise de décisions pour le bien de la collectivité (for public good).

Valeurs

Sécurité des informations, protection, sécurité et gouvernance des données, non-discrimination, explicabilité, transparence, reproductibilité, neutralité, objectivité, traitement éthique des données et des résultats: telles sont les valeurs fondamentales qui nous caractérisent. Ces valeurs culminent dans la certitude des citoyens que tous les services de la science des données sont mis à profit dans l’intérêt général. Par exemple, les résultats de chaque projet sont documentés de manière transparente et mis à disposition, pour autant que la législation, en particulier celle sur la protection des données, le permette.

Le Centre de compétences en science des données (DSCC) s’efforce de générer de la valeur pour le bien de la collectivité de manière durable.

Informations supplémentaires

Publications

Communiqués de presse

Liens

Contact

Office fédéral de la statistique
Centre de compétences en science des données DSCC

Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Suisse

Contact

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/fr/home/dscc/dscc.html