Swiss Soil Suitability Map

Information on the digitalisation and the resulting geodata on land suitability in Switzerland.

From a map to geodata

In 1980, the then Federal Offices of Spatial Planning, Agriculture and Forestry published a land suitability map of Switzerland on a scale of 1:200,000, whose contents were interpreted and mapped at the Federal Laboratory for Agricultural Crop Production in Reckenholz, with the help of numerous data sources (maps, aerial photographs) from the 1970s. A few years later these maps were digitalised at the Geographical Institute of the University of Bern to be used for different purposes. After the FSO became aware of the existence of this digital land suitability map, in 1994 the four map quadrants, which had originally been recorded separately, were merged into a consistent data set and with the permission of the paper map publishers transferred to the GEOSTAT range of data.

In 2000, this digital data was re-examined regarding its location accuracy and subsequently rectified und geometrically improved using the rasterized Swiss topographic map 1:200'000 as reference. The topographic landscape model VECTOR200 of the Federal Office of Topograpy contributed the national boundary as well as the lake shore lines, thus creating a clear reference for most of the linear map elements without direct pedologic substance.

Mapping units

Each mapping unit in the Swiss soil suitability map is characterised by a code formed of a capitel letter followed a number. The letters represent 25 different physio-geographical units. The numbers indicate different form elements of landscapes, arranged according to type of bedrock, slope gradient and slope inclination. Each mapping unit includes one or several pedological soil category. The altogether 144 different mapping units are aggregated in the map to 18 color-coded groups according to their estimated soil suitability for various agricultural usages. Hence, in the first priority agricultural criteria were use for this classification.

Physio-geographical unit of the soil suitabiliy map
A Table Jura
B Basins and valleys of the Fold and Table Jura
C Longitudinal valleys of the Fold Jura
D Plateau Jura
E Mountain ranges of the Chain Jura
F Plains of the lower Swiss Central Plateau
G Slightly undulated moraine hill country
H Lower molasse hill country, partly covered by moraines
J U-valleys of the Swiss Central Plateau
K Middle molasse hill country, partly with glacial transformation
L Drumlin landscapes with stronger relief
M Higher molasse hill country with strong erosion relief (Hörnli)
N Higher molasse hill country with strong erosion relief (Napf)
O Predominantly sandy mollasse at the fringe of the Alps
P Predominantly conglomerate at the fringe of the Alps
Q Wide alpine valleys
R Narrow alpine valleys
S Alpine flysch and Grison slate landscape, predominantly in the northern Alps
T Alpine Grison slate landscape in the upper Rhone valley and in Ticino
U Alpine limestone mountains
V Alpine crystalline mountains of hard bedrock (granite, orthogneiss)
W Alpine crystalline mountains of relatively easily weathered bedrock (paragneiss)
X Molasse at the fringe of the Alps in Ticino, partly covered by moraines
Y Valley landscapes (south side of the Alps)
Z Plains (Magadino, Mendrisio)

Contact

Federal statistical office Section Geoinformation
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
Tel
+41 58 463 68 35

Monday to Friday
09.00–11.30 and 14.00–16.00

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/dienstleistungen/geostat/geodaten-bundesstatistik/boden-nutzung-bedeckung-eignung/abgeleitete-und-andere-daten/bodeneignungskarte-schweiz.html

Bodeneignungskarte der Schweiz

Informationen zur Digitalisierung und zu den daraus entstandenen Geodaten der Bodeneignungskarte der Schweiz

Von der Karte zu Geodaten

1980 publizierten die damaligen Bundesämter für Raumplanung, für Landwirtschaft und für Forstwesen eine Bodeneignungskarte der Schweiz im Massstab 1:200'000, deren Inhalte mit Hilfe zahlreicher Datengrundlagen (Karten, Luftbilder) der 1970er Jahre an der Eidg. Versuchsanstalt für landwirtschaftlichen Pflanzenbau Reckenholz interpretiert und kartiert worden war. Einige Jahre später wurde diese Karte am Geografischen Institut der Universität Bern zur Verwendung in verschiedenen Arbeiten digitalisiert. Nachdem das BFS Kenntnis von der Existenz der digitalen Bodeneignungskarte erhielt, wurden die ursprünglich vier separat erfassten Kartenquadranten 1994 zu einem konsistenten Datensatz kombiniert und mit dem Einverständnis der Herausgeber der Papierkarte ins Datenangebot von GEOSTAT übernommen.

Im Jahr 2000 wurden die Daten einer weiteren Überprüfung insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Lagegenauigkeit unterzogen. Mit Hilfe der Pixelkarte 1:200'000 wurden die Vektorgrenzen entzerrt und geometrisch korrigiert. Aus dem Datensatz VECTOR200 des Bundesamts für Landestopografie wurden zudem Seeuferlinien und Landesgrenzen übernommen, womit eine eindeutige Referenz für einen wichtigen Teil der Linien ohne direkten bodenkundlichen Inhalt gebildet wurde.

Kartiereinheiten

In der Bodeneignungskarte ist jede Kartierungseinheit mit einem Code aus einem Grossbuchstaben und einer Zahl versehen. Die Buchstaben stehen für 25 verschiedene physiogeografische Einheiten. Die Zahlen geben verschiedene Formelemente der Landschaften wieder, geordnet nach Muttergestein, Hanglage und Hangneigung. Jede Kartierungseinheit entspricht zudem einem oder mehreren Bodentypen. Die insgesamt 144 Kartierungseinheiten sind in der Karte nach dem Gesichtspunkt der Bodeneignung in 18 unterschiedlich eingefärbte Gruppen zusammengefasst. Für diese Klassierung wurden in erster Linie landwirtschaftliche Kriterien verwendet.

Physiogeografische Einheiten der Bodeneignungskarte
A Tafeljura
B Becken und Täler im Falten- und Tafeljura
C Längstäler im Faltenjura
D Plateaujura
E Höhenzüge im Kettenjura
F Ebenen des tieferen Mittellandes
G Leicht gewelltes Moränenhügelland
H Tieferes Molassehügelland mit teilweiser Moränenbedeckung
J Sohlentäler des Mittellandes
K Mittleres Molassehügelland mit teilweiser glazialer Überformung
L Drumlinlandschaften mit stärkerem Relief
M Höheres Molassehügelland mit starkem Erosionsrelief (Hörnli)
N Höheres Molassehügelland mit starkem Erosionsrelief (Napf)
O Vorwiegend sandige Mollasse am Alpenrand
P Vorwiegend Nagelfluh am Alpenrand
Q Weite Alpentäler
R Enge Alpentäler
S Alpine Flyschlandschaft und Bündnerschiefer, vorwiegend in den nördlichen Alpen
T Alpine Bündnerschieferlandschaft im Bereich des oberen Rhonetals und im Tessin
U Alpine Kalkberglandschaft
V Alpine kristalline Berglandschaft auf harten Gesteinen (Granit, Orthogneise)
W Alpine kristalline Berglandschaft auf relativ leicht verwitterbaren Gesteinen (Paragneise)
X Alpenrandmolasse mit teilweiser Moränenbedeckung, Tessin
Y Tallandschaften (Alpensüdseite)
Z Ebenen (Magadino, Mendrisio)

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Geoinformation
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/dienstleistungen/geostat/geodaten-bundesstatistik/boden-nutzung-bedeckung-eignung/abgeleitete-und-andere-daten/bodeneignungskarte-schweiz.html