Inequality of income distribution

How is income distributed in Switzerland? Is the income gap widening? How does Switzerland fare in international comparison? And to what extent can any inequalities be compensated by government transfers? These statistics offer answers to these questions and data are drawn upon from two different surveys:

  • The Survey on Income and Living Conditions (SILC) has been conducted since 2007 and is the only survey suitable for comparisons with other European countries (cf. menu Income distribution on the left-hand side).
  • The Household Budget Survey (HBS) has been conducted in its present form since 1998. It forms the basis for analyses on income inequality before and after government transfers (cf. menu Redistribution of income through government transfers on the left-hand side).

Additional studies on income distribution

To complete the annually updated indicators, the FSO also conducts more in-depth studies on the subject of income distribution and inequality, taking a closer look at certain topics or population groups. These publications can be downloaded free of charge at «Further information/publications» or on our French or German pages.

Further information

Publications

Links

Statistical sources and concepts

On this topic

Income distribution

Distribution of equivalised disposable income, standard of living and inequalities between rich and poor in Switzerland and Europe

Redistribution of income through government transfers

Development of incomes and inequality measures (quintile share ratio S80/S20, Gini-coefficient)

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Social Analyses
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/wirtschaftliche-soziale-situation-bevoelkerung/wohlbefinden-armut/ungleichheit-einkommensverteilung.html

Inégalités de répartition des revenus

Comment le revenu est-il réparti en Suisse? Les écarts entre les revenus augmentent-ils? Où se situe la Suisse en comparaison internationale? Dans quelle mesure les inégalités sont-elles compensées par les transferts de l’Etat? Les statistiques ici présentées répondent à ces questions. Elles s’appuient sur les résultats de deux enquêtes:

  • l’enquête sur les revenus et les conditions de vie (SILC), qui existe depuis 2007 et qui permet des comparaisons avec d’autres pays européens (voir Distribution des revenus dans la navigation de gauche).

  • l’enquête sur le budget des ménages (EBM), qui existe dans sa forme actuelle depuis 1998 et qui sert de base aux analyses sur les inégalités de revenu avant et après les transferts de l’Etat (voir Redistribution des revenus par les transferts sociaux dans la navigation de gauche).     

Analyses approfondies sur la distribution des revenus

En complément à l’actualisation annuelle des principaux indicateurs, l’OFS réalise des analyses approfondies dans le domaine de la distribution et de l’inégalité des revenus, consacrées à des thèmes spécifiques ou à certains groupes de la population. Ces analyses peuvent être téléchargées gratuitement sous «Informations supplémentaires / Publications».

Informations supplémentaires

Tableaux

Cartes

Publications

Liens

Bases statistiques et enquêtes

Sur ce thème

Distribution des revenus

Distribution du revenu disponible équivalent, niveau de vie et inégalités entre les plus riches et plus pauvres en Suisse et en Europe

Redistribution des revenus par les transferts sociaux

Evolution des revenus et des mesures d’inégalité (rapport interquintile S80/S20, coefficient de Gini)

Contact

Office fédéral de la statistique Section Analyses sociales
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Suisse

Contact

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/fr/home/statistiken/wirtschaftliche-soziale-situation-bevoelkerung/wohlbefinden-armut/ungleichheit-einkommensverteilung.html