Balancing work and family

Balancing work and family life is a challenge for the whole family. The solution models are as varied as the individual demands and requirements of households.
Nowadays, it is increasingly rare for a single salary to meet the financial needs of a family. Consequently, it is often a financial necessity for both parents to engage in paid employment. In addition, women have higher educational qualifications and do not want to abandon their careers altogether because of family.
The fact that women, and mothers in particular, are increasingly engaged in paid employment should not obscure the fact that most of them work part-time and, particularly, that they do so with a low work-time percentage (under 50%) when children live in the household. On the other hand, men and particularly fathers usually work full-time, which is why the burden of balancing work and family is usually borne by mothers.
One of the main options available to ease the burden for working parents is extra-family childcare provided by grandparents, neighbours, day nurseries, out-of-school centres, childminders, full-time schools, supervised lunch programmes. Institutional childcare services are not always available in sufficient numbers, compatible with parents' work schedules and affordable. Depending on the age and number of children, the mother's second wage may end up being used up by these extra expenses.

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Demography and Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuch√Ętel
Switzerland

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/wirtschaftliche-soziale-situation-bevoelkerung/gleichstellung-frau-mann/vereinbarkeit-beruf-familie.html

Conciliation emploi et famille

Arriver à concilier activité professionnelle et vie familiale constitue un défi pour toute la famille. Les solutions sont aussi variées que les exigences individuelles et la situation de chaque ménage.
Il est de plus en plus fréquent de nos jours qu’un seul revenu ne suffise pas à couvrir les besoins d’une famille et que les deux parents exercent donc une activité professionnelle, par nécessité financière. A cela s’ajoute le fait que les femmes sont de plus en plus nombreuses à avoir suivi une formation plus poussée et qu'elles ne veulent souvent pas totalement renoncer à un emploi pour se consacrer à leur famille.
Si les femmes, et en particulier les mères, sont aujourd’hui plus nombreuses à avoir un emploi que par le passé, il faut toutefois savoir que la majorité d’entre elles travaillent à temps partiel et que leur taux d'occupation est plutôt bas (moins de 50%) si elles ont des enfants en bas âge. Inversement, les hommes, et spécialement les pères, travaillent pour la plupart à plein temps. C’est par conséquent aux mères que revient le soin de s’organiser pour concilier activité professionnelle et vie familiale.
L’accueil extrafamilial - qu'il s'agisse de grands-parents, de voisins, de crèches, de garderies, de mamans de jour ou d'écoles à horaire continu avec prise en charge en dehors des heures de cours – est le plus susceptible d’apporter une aide aux parents. Ces structures ne sont toutefois pas toujours disponibles en nombre suffisant ni adaptées aux horaires de travail du monde professionnel et elles sont souvent onéreuses. Selon l’âge et le nombre des enfants, le salaire de la mère ne sert parfois qu’à couvrir les dépenses qu’elles occasionnent.

Informations supplémentaires

Publications

Liens

Contact

Office fédéral de la statistique Section Démographie et migration
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Suisse

Contact

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/fr/home/statistiken/wirtschaftliche-soziale-situation-bevoelkerung/gleichstellung-frau-mann/vereinbarkeit-beruf-familie.html