Open Government Data (OGD)

Opendata logo

The “Open Government Data Office” at the FSO is in charge of coordinating the operational implementation of Switzerland’s OGD Strategy 2019–2013 in close cooperation with the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA). As Switzerland’s OGD centre of excellence, it is responsible for operating and developing the national reference platform, opendata.swiss. It supports and facilitates the publication of data and provides data publishers and users with advice on all matters related to OGD.

OGD Strategy 2019–2023

Government data that are open and freely accessible foster transparency, participation and innovation. To support and establish the use of OGD in the future, all newly published data from government offices will be made available as open government data from 2020. This data will be freely accessible and machine-readable and will gradually include other existing databases. This is one of the main objectives of the Open Government Data Strategy in Switzerland 2019–2023, approved by the Federal Council at its meeting of 30 November 2018.

Organisation

In addition to the central OGD office, posts responsible for data will be designated in all federal departments, in several federal offices and in the Federal Chancellery who will support and encourage the strategy’s implementation within their spheres of influence.  The “Swiss eGovernment Forum” provides a platform where activities are coordinated together with the participating institutions of other state authorities and federal levels as well as other state-related enterprises.

Switzerland’s OGD Portal

The central, visible reference for the implementation of the OGD strategy is the www.opendata.swiss portal, which lists all the Swiss government open data currently available and freely accessible. Over 70 data providers from the Confederation, cantons, communes and other state-related enterprises have referenced their published data here, subject to the same terms of use. Data collections such as health insurance premiums, population statistics or current weather data are available.

The OGD office’s activities and services

  • Promotion of a nationally coordinated data publication that should be as demand-led as possible
  • Definition of quality standards for publication as well as continual monitoring of compliance with requirements
  • Operation and development of the opendata.swiss portal
  • Creation of an overview of the Confederation’s data (central catalogue “Data inventory of the Federal Administration Data”)
  • Promotion of data use, especially by strengthening connections between the various stakeholders
  • Supporting data providers with the publication of open government data (including by means of the opendata handbook)
  • Coordination of the Swiss initiative with international partners in the area of Open Government Data, such as the EU, OECD, OGD-D-A-CH-Li
  • Integration and development of showcases for OGD in the area of linked data, especially in relation to statistics, and other innovative technologies.

These activities supersede the “OGD Switzerland” project”. 

 
 

opendata.swiss

Open Data Portals

Contact

Open Government Data Office Federal Statistical Office
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland

opendata@bfs.admin.ch

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/services/ogd.html

Open Government Data (OGD)

Opendata logo

Le secrétariat Open Government Data de l’OFS coordonne la mise en œuvre opérationnelle de la stratégie OGD Suisse 2019–2023 en étroite collaboration avec le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI). Centre de compétence en matière de libre accès aux données, le secrétariat Open Government Data gère et développe la plateforme nationale de référence opendata.swiss, accompagne et encourage la publication de données et conseille les fournisseurs et les utilisateurs de données sur les questions touchant le libre accès aux données publiques.

Stratégie OGD 20192023

Publier les données administratives en libre accès renforce la transparence, la participation et l’innovation. C'est pour appliquer cette mesure de manière durable et consolidée que les services fédéraux diffuseront à partir de 2020 leurs nouvelles données en libre accès, dans des formats ouverts, lisibles par ordinateur («Open Government Data») et que d'autres données existantes seront mises progressivement à la disposition du public. Il s’agit là d’un des principaux objectifs de la Stratégie en matière de libre accès aux données publiques en Suisse pour les années 2019 à 2023, que le Conseil fédéral a approuvé lors de sa séance du 30 novembre 2018.

Organisation

Le secrétariat central OGD travaillera avec les services compétents dans les départements, dans certains offices fédéraux et à la Chancellerie fédérale chargés d’accompagner et de promouvoir la mise en œuvre de la stratégie dans leur domaine de compétence. Dans le cadre du Forum des pouvoirs publics, les activités seront coordonnées avec les représentants des pouvoirs publics d'autres échelons fédéraux et des entreprises parapubliques.

Le portail OGD de la Suisse

La principale référence visible de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie OGD en Suisse est le portail www.opendata.swiss, sur lequel sont référencées toutes les données ouvertes, librement accessibles des autorités suisses. Plus de 70 organes de la Confédération, des cantons, des communes et d’autres organisations investies d’un mandat étatique publient des données sur le portail aux mêmes conditions d’utilisation (recueils de données tels que primes d’assurance-maladie, statistiques démographiques, données météorologiques actuelles, etc.).

Activités et prestations du secrétariat OGD

  • Promouvoir une publication coordonnée des données, en privilégiant si possible les domaines politiquement prioritaires.
  • Définir les critères de qualité pour la publication et assurer une évaluation constante de leur application
  • Gérer et développer le portail opendata.swiss.
  • Créer une vue d’ensemble des données de la Confédération (catalogue «inventaire des données de la Confédération»)
  • Encourager l’utilisation des données, notamment en renforçant les échanges entre les parties prenantes.
  • Soutenir les fournisseurs de données dans la publication de données publiques ouvertes (notamment via handbook.opendata.swiss)
  • Coordonner les activités de la Suisse avec les partenaires internationaux dans le domaine des OGD (UE, OCDE, OGD D-A-Li, etc.).
  • Intégrer et élaborer des exemples de données publiques ouvertes (showcases) dans le domaine des données liées (linked data), notamment dans le domaine statistique et avec d’autres technologies novatrices.

Ces activités remplacent l’ancien projet «OGD Suisse».

 

opendata.swiss

Portails Open Data

Contact

Secrétariat Open Government Data Office fédéral de la statistique
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Suisse

opendata@bfs.admin.ch

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/fr/home/services/ogd.html