General Classification of Economic Activities (NOGA)

The General Classification of Economic Activities (NOGA) is derived from the Statistical Classification of Economic Activities in the European Community (NACE). The NACE has been defined in the different official languages of the member states taking into account the economic structure of the majority of the countries.

The NOGA was developed by the FSO in collaboration with experts from the public administration and numerous umbrella organisations. The particularities and/or important activities of the national economy have been incorporated in the last two positions of the six-digit code.

The present NOGA 2008 came into force on January 1, 2008 and has been integrated into the Business and Enterprise Register (BER). In 2019, the Statistical office of the European Union (Eurostat) has launched the revision of NACE. In order to ensure compatibility, the FSO has simultaneously decided to revise the NOGA. The new version of the NOGA (NOGA 2025) has now been finalized and will be introduced into the statistics produced by the FSO from 2026 onwards.

Fact sheet

Further information



Federal Statistical Office Business Registers Data
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
+41 58 463 65 23

From Monday to Friday
08.30–11.30 and 14.00–16.00


Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).