General Classification of Economic Activities (NOGA)

The General Classification of Economic Activities (NOGA) is the Swiss version of the European classification of economic activities NACE. It has been defined at European level in the different official languages of the Member States taking into account the economic structure of the majority of countries up to the fourth position.

The NOGA was developed by the FSO in collaboration with experts from the public administration and numerous umbrella organisations. The particularities and/or important activities of the national economy have been incorporated in the last two positions of the six-digit code. An overview of the current structure can be found on our website

The present NOGA 2008 came into force on 1 January 2008 and has been integrated into the Business and Enterprise Register (BER). In 2019, the statistical office of the European Union (Eurostat) has launched the revision of NACE. In order to ensure compatibility, the FSO has simultaneously decided to revise the NOGA. The new NOGA nomenclature will be structurally complete in December 2025.

For more information on NOGA 2008, please refer to the publications and documents available on this page. If you would like to change your NOGA code, please complete NOGA code change request.


Federal Statistical Office Business Registers Data URD
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
+41 58 463 65 23

From Monday to Friday
08.30–11.30 and 14.00–16.00 NOGA code change request


Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).