Administrative boundaries

To support the creation of thematic maps and the cartographic visualisation of statistical data, the FSO offers digital admistrative boundaries of the institutional subdivisions of Switzerland most relevant for statistics.

Under the common name «commune boundaries» one finds generalised vector boundary lines of the Swiss communes, but also of districts, cantons, great regions, large lakes and the national boundary of Switzerland, suitable for a cartographic representation of 1:300'000 or smaller. The mentioned subdivisions communes, districts and cantons may be selected and presented in the interactive map below.


Federal statistical office Section Geoinformation
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
+41 58 463 68 35

Monday to Friday
09.00–11.30 and 14.00–16.00