New pensions statistics

Statistics on new recipients of old-age provision benefits (new pensions statistics)

The new pensions statistics (NRS) is an exhaustive data collection that describes the number of new recipients of old-age pensions or lump-sum withdrawals from the Swiss old-age provision system. Data are available for all three pillars. In addition to the number of new recipients, the statistic also includes the amount of benefits paid.

Number of new recipients of benefits from the old-age provision system

In 2020, 216 143 people received at least one new benefit from the old-age provision system (excluding double counting). The gender ratio is relatively even with regard to old-age and survivors' insurance (OASI) retirement benefits. In contrast, considerably more men received a benefit from the 2nd or 3rd pillar than women. This difference can be explained by the fact that for family reasons, women are more likely than men to forego employment or to receive wages that fall below the threshold for paying into an occupational pension plan (PP). However, most recipients are married. In these cases, the household is generally an economic unit with the available financial means being divided essentially more equally between the genders than the benefits paid individually.

In 2020, 89% of all new OASI pensioners received their old-age pension at the legal retirement age. 9% received their OASI pension before the legal retirement age. In comparison to OASI, the first receipt of PP and pillar 3a benefits is handled more flexibly with 42% (PP pension), 43% (PP lump-sum), and 54% (pillar 3a lump-sum) of all new benefit recipients already receiving a retirement benefit before the legal retirement age in 2020. It must be noted that it is unknown how the employment status or the work quota of these persons changes at the time the benefit is received. In addition, no cohorts are considered, which means that the percentages given are not classic advance withdrawal rates.

New recipients of old-age provision benefits, 2020
 

Pension

Lump-sum

Total2

 

OASI

PP (PF and VBI)

PP (PF and VBI)

Pillar 3a

 

           

Total (all age groups)1

93 718

44 315

58 917

111 188

216 143

Men (all age groups)

45 363

25 597

33 446

64 195

115 973

Women (all age groups)

48 355

18 603

25 374

46 869

99 834

Men (before legal RA)

4 551

11 465

14 461

35 137

56 169

Women (before legal RA)

4 155

7 279

10 682

24 658

41 086

Men (legal RA)

38 289

12 403

12 941

18 958

41 909

Women (legal RA)

41 699

8 631

9 241

15 364

44 037

Men (after legal RA)

2 523

1 729

6 044

10 100

17 895

Women (after legal RA)

2 501

2 693

5 451

6 847

14 711

1) In addition to men and women, the total also includes persons whose gender is not specified.
2) This column indicates the totals of the beneficiaries per row, excluding double counting of persons and benefits.
Remarks:
OASI = old-age and survivors' insurance
PP = occupational pension plan
PF = pension funds
VBI = vested benefits institutions
RA = retirement age
Further remarks can be found in table T1 of the publication “Neurentenstatistik 2015 – Definitive Resultate im Überblick” (available in German, French and Italian).
Source: FSO – New pensions statistics (NRS)
© FSO 2022

New OASI and occupational pension

The median new OASI pension was CHF 1787 per month in 2020. "Median" means that 50% of the persons received a higher pension and 50% a lower pension. The OASI pensions of people who received their pension before legal retirement age, were, as one would expect, somewhat lower than the pensions of those who received their pension at the age of 65 or 64 respectively.

The median monthly new occupational pension was CHF 1692 in 2020. For men, the monthly median pensions were highest among those who received their first pension before the legal retirement age of 65 (CHF 2553), followed by new recipients over the age of 65 (CHF 1998).  The monthly median pensions were lowest among the group of men who received their first pension at the legal retirement age of 65 (CHF 1782).

For women, in contrast, we observe a slightly different pattern. The highest monthly median pensions are received by those retiring after the legal retirement age (CHF 1354), followed by women retiring before the legal retirement age of 64 (CHF 1344). The lowest monthly median pensions are received by women at the legal retirement age (CHF 1000).

Lump-sum withdrawals from occupational pension plans and pillar 3a

If the different age groups are considered for PP lump-sum withdrawals, the trends slightly differ from those seen for PP pensions. People making a lump-sum withdrawal prior to legal retirement age received the highest payments, followed by people with a lump-sum withdrawal at legal retirement age. The lowest lump-sum payments were made to people with a withdrawal after legal retirement age. Overall, the median PP lump-sum withdrawal was CHF 100 000.

In contrast to the PP, no particular differences can be seen between age groups for lump-sum withdrawals from the 3a pillar. They amounted to CHF 45 681 in 2020 (median).

New recipients of a retirement benefit from occupational pension funds, by combination of benefits and gender

In 2020, 46% of all new recipients of a retirement benefit from a pension fund received exclusively a new pension. 34% only received a lump-sum and 20% both a new pension and a lump-sum.1 With 51%, women received exclusively a pension more often that men (42%). In contrast, men more often received both a lump-sum and a new pension (24% compared with 14% of women).

Further information

Graphs

Press Releases

Statistical sources and concepts

Contact

Federal statistical Office Section Income, Consumption and Living Conditions
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Tel.
+41 58 463 64 21

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/soziale-sicherheit/berichterstattung-altersvorsorge/neurentenstatistik.html

Neurentenstatistik

Statistik der neuen Leistungsbeziehenden aus der Altersvorsorge (Neurentenstatistik)

Die Neurentenstatistik (NRS) ist eine Vollerhebung, die beschreibt, wie viele Personen aus dem Schweizer Vorsorgesystem neu eine Altersrente erhalten oder einen Kapitalbezug tätigen. Die Daten liegen zu allen drei Säulen vor. Die Statistik erfasst neben der Anzahl der neuen Bezügerinnen und Bezüger auch die Höhe der betreffenden Auszahlung.

Anzahl neue Beziehende von Leistungen aus dem Altersvorsorgesystem

Im Jahr 2020 haben 216 143 Personen mindestens eine neue Altersleistung aus dem Altersvorsorgesystem bezogen (ohne Doppelzählungen). Bei den Leistungen aus der Alters- und Hinterlassenenversicherung (AHV) ist das Geschlechterverhältnis relativ ausgeglichen. Hingegen bezogen deutlich mehr Männer eine Leistung aus der zweiten oder dritten Säule als Frauen. Dies, weil Frauen aus familiären Gründen häufiger als Männer auf eine Erwerbstätigkeit verzichten beziehungsweise Löhne beziehen, die unter der Eintrittsschwelle für die berufliche Vorsorge (BV) liegen. Allerdings sind die meisten Bezügerinnen und Bezüger verheiratet. In diesen Fällen ist der Haushalt in der Regel eine ökonomische Einheit, wodurch die zur Verfügung stehenden finanziellen Mittel zwischen den Geschlechtern wesentlich ausgeglichener verteilt sein dürften als die individuell ausbezahlten Beträge.

2020 bezogen 89% aller Neurentnerinnen und Neurentner der AHV ihre Altersrente mit Erreichen des gesetzlichen Rentenalters. 9% bezogen die AHV-Rente vor dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter. Im Vergleich zur AHV wird der Erstbezug in der BV und der gebundenen Selbstvorsorge flexibler gehandhabt. Hier bezogen im Jahr 2020 42% (BV-Rente), 43% (BV-Kapital), bzw. 54% (Säule 3a-Kapital) aller neuen Leistungsbezüger bereits vor dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter eine Altersleistung. Es ist zu beachten, dass unbekannt ist, wie sich der Erwerbsstatus oder das Erwerbspensum dieser Personen zum Zeitpunkt des Leistungsbezuges ändert. Zudem werden keine Kohorten betrachtet, womit es sich bei den angegebenen Prozentzahlen nicht um klassische Vorbezugsquoten handelt.

Anzahl neue Beziehende von Leistungen aus dem Altersvorsorgesystem, 2020
 

Rente

Kapital

Total2

 

AHV

BV (PK und FZE)

BV (PK und FZE)

Säule 3a

 

Total (alle Altersgruppen)1

93 718

44 315

58 917

111 188

216 143

Männer (alle Altersgruppen)

45 363

25 597

33 446

64 195

115 973

Frauen (alle Altersgruppen)

48 355

18 603

25 374

46 869

99 834

Männer (vor gesetzl. RA)

4 551

11 465

14 461

35 137

56 169

Frauen (vor gesetzl. RA)

4 155

7 279

10 682

24 658

41 086

Männer (gesetzliches RA)

38 289

12 403

12 941

18 958

41 909

Frauen (gesetzliches RA)

41 699

8 631

9 241

15 364

44 037

Männer (nach gesetzl. RA)

2 523

1 729

6 044

10 100

17 895

Frauen (nach gesetzl. RA)

2 501

2 693

5 451

6 847

14 711

1) In den Totalen inbegriffen sind auch diejenigen Personen, bei denen die Angabe zum Geschlecht fehlt.
2) Diese Spalte zeigt die Gesamtzahl der Begünstigten pro Zeile. Personen, welche im selben Jahr mehrere Leistungen bezogen haben, werden nur einmal gezählt.
Bemerkungen:
AHV = Alters- und Hinterlassenenversicherung (hier nur Altersversicherung relevant)
BV = Berufliche Vorsorge
PK = Pensionskassen
FZE = Freizügigkeitseinrichtungen
RA = Rentenalter
Weitere Bemerkungen sind in der Tabelle T1 der Publikation «Neurentenstatistik 2015 – Definitive Resultate im Überblick» enthalten.
Quelle: BFS – Neurentenstatistik (NRS)
© BFS 2022

Höhe neuer Renten aus der AHV und BV

Die AHV-Altersneurente lag 2020 bei 1787 Franken pro Monat (Medianwert). «Medianwert» bedeutet, dass 50% der Personen eine höhere und 50% eine tiefere Rente erhielten. Die AHV-Renten der Personen, die ihre Rente vor dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter bezogen, lagen erwartungsgemäss etwas tiefer als die Renten derer, die sie mit 65 bzw. 64 Jahren bezogen.

Die monatliche BV-Neurente lag 2020 bei 1692 Franken (Medianwert). 2020 war die monatliche BV-Medianrente bei den Männern, die ihre erste Rente vor dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter von 65 Jahren bezogen haben, am höchsten (2553 Franken), gefolgt von den Neubezügern über 65 Jahren (1998 Franken). Am tiefsten waren die monatlichen Medianrenten mit 1782 Franken bei den Männern, die sich im gesetzlichen Rentenalter von 65 Jahren pensionieren liessen.

Bei den Frauen zeigt sich ein leicht anderes Bild. Dort waren die Medianrenten aus der 2. Säule bei den Frauen, die sie nach dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter von 64 Jahren erstmals bezogen haben, am höchsten (1354 Franken), gefolgt von den Neubezügerinnen, die sie vor ihrem 64. Altersjahr geltend machten (1344 Franken). Wie bei den Männern erhielten auch die Frauen, die ihre erste Rente mit Erreichen des gesetzlichen Rentenalters bezogen haben, die niedrigsten Renten (1000 Franken).

Höhe Kapitalbezüge aus der BV und Säule 3a

Betrachtet man die verschiedenen Altersgruppen bei den BV-Kapitalbezügen, zeigen sich im Vergleich zu den BV-Renten leicht unterschiedliche Tendenzen. Personen mit Kapitalbezug vor dem gesetzlichen Rentenalter erhielten die höchsten Kapitalauszahlungen, gefolgt von den Personen mit Kapitalbezug bei Erreichen des gesetzlichen Rentenalters. Die niedrigsten Kapitalauszahlungen erhielten Personen, die das Kapital nach Erreichen des gesetzlichen Rentenalters bezogen. Insgesamt betrug der Kapitalbezug aus der BV im Median 100 000.

Im Gegensatz zur BV weisen die Kapitalauszahlungen aus der Säule 3a keine nennenswerten Unterschiede nach Altersgruppen auf. Im Jahr 2020 betrug der Kapitalbezug 45 681 Franken (Median).

Neue Beziehende einer Altersleistung aus einer Pensionskasse, nach Leistungskombination und Geschlecht

Im Jahr 2020 erhielten 46% aller neuen Beziehenden einer Altersleistung aus einer Pensionskasse ausschliesslich eine Neurente. 34% bezogen ausschliesslich Kapital und 20% sowohl eine Neurente als auch Kapital.1 Die Frauen bezogen mit 51% häufiger ausschliesslich eine Rente als die Männer (42%). Hingegen bezogen die Männer häufiger sowohl Kapital als auch eine Neurente (24% vs. 14% bei den Frauen).

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellen

Grafiken

Publikationen

Medienmitteilungen

Alle Tabellen zum Thema Neurentenstatistik

Grundlagen und Erhebungen

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Einkommen, Konsum und Lebensbedingungen
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz
Tel.
+41 58 463 64 21

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/soziale-sicherheit/berichterstattung-altersvorsorge/neurentenstatistik.html