MONET 2030: Soil sealing


SDG 15: Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss

Swiss target 15.3: Soil function is guaranteed for the long term. Soil use causes no physical, chemical or biological stresses that in turn compromise soil function and hence soil fertility on a lasting basis. Degraded soils are restored and improved so that they are again able to fulfil the functions typical for their location. By 2030, soil consumption is reduced by one-third, compared to 2020. There will be no more net soil loss as of 2050.

Significance of the indicator
The indicator shows the proportion of sealed surfaces in the entire Swiss territory. When it is sealed, soil loses its natural function as habitat, reservoir and filter as well as the ability to transform and degrade substances. A decrease in this percentage is, therefore, a step towards sustainable development.

Help for interpretation
Sealed areas include buildings, greenhouses and areas covered with hard surfaces (asphalt, concrete, artificially laid gravel or stone surfaces, etc.).

International comparability
This indicator cannot be compared at international level.


Tables

Methodology

The indicator shows the percentage of sealed areas in Switzerland. Sealed areas include buildings (incl. Greenhouses) and areas covered with hard surfaces (asphalt, concrete, artificially laid gravel or stone surfaces, etc.). Data come from the Federal Statistical Office’s (FSO) land use statistics. These statistics provide information on land cover and use; they are compiled from aerial photographs taken by the Federal Office of Tophography (swisstopo), which are analysed by means of a sampling point network measuring 100 by 100 metres.

Targets

Swiss target 15.3: Soil function is guaranteed for the long term. Soil use causes no physical, chemical or biological stresses that in turn compromise soil function and hence soil fertility on a lasting basis. Degraded soils are restored and improved so that they are again able to fulfil the functions typical for their location. By 2030, soil consumption is reduced by one-third, compared to 2020. There will be no more net soil loss as of 2050.

International target 15.3: By 2030, combat desertification, restore degraded land and soil, including land affected by desertification, drought and floods, and strive to achieve a land degradation-neutral world.

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Environment, Sustainable Development, Territory
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
Tel.
+41 58 485 64 96

Monday - Friday:
09.00 - 12.00 / 14.00 - 16.00

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/nachhaltige-entwicklung/monet-2030/alle-nach-themen/15-leben-land/bodenversiegelung.html

MONET 2030: Bodenversiegelung


SDG 15: Landökosysteme schützen, wiederherstellen und ihre nachhaltige Nutzung fördern, Wälder nachhaltig bewirtschaften, Wüstenbildung bekämpfen, Bodendegradation beenden und umkehren und dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt ein Ende setzen

Schweizer Unterziel 15.3: Die Funktionen des Bodens sind dauerhaft gewährleistet. Die Nutzung von Boden führt zu keinen physikalischen, chemischen und biologischen Belastungen, die zu einer dauerhaften Beeinträchtigung der Bodenfunktionen und somit der Bodenfruchtbarkeit führen. Degradierte Böden werden wiederhergestellt und aufgewertet, damit sie ihre standorttypischen Funktionen wieder erfüllen können. Bis 2030 wird der Bodenverbrauch im Vergleich zu 2020 um einen Drittel reduziert. Ab 2050 geht netto kein Boden mehr verloren.

Bedeutung des Indikators
Der Indikator gibt Aufschluss über den Anteil der versiegelten Fläche in der Schweiz. Durch die Versiegelung verliert der Boden seine natürliche ökologische Funktion als Lebensraum, Speicher und Filter sowie die Fähigkeit, Stoffe umzuwandeln und abzubauen. Ein Rückgang dieser Fläche trägt zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung bei.

Lesehilfe
Die versiegelten Flächen umfassen Gebäude, Gewächshäuser sowie befestigte Flächen (Asphalt, Beton, künstlich angelegte Kies- oder Steinflächen usw.).

Internationaler Vergleich
Der Indikator ist international nicht vergleichbar.


Tabellen

Methodologie

Der Indikator zeigt den Anteil versiegelter Flächen in der Schweiz. Versiegelte Flächen umfassen Gebäude (inkl. Treibhäuser) sowie befestigte Flächen (Asphalt, Beton, künstlich angelegte Kies- oder Steinflächen usw.). Die Daten stammen von der Arealstatistik des Bundesamts für Statistik (BFS). Die Arealstatistik erhebt die Bodenbedeckung und Bodennutzung in der Schweiz anhand von Luftbildern des Bundesamts für Landestopographie (swisstopo), denen ein Stichprobennetz mit einer Maschenweite von 100 auf 100 Meter überlagert wird.

Quellen

Unterziele

Schweizer Unterziel 15.3: Die Funktionen des Bodens sind dauerhaft gewährleistet. Die Nutzung von Boden führt zu keinen physikalischen, chemischen und biologischen Belastungen, die zu einer dauerhaften Beeinträchtigung der Bodenfunktionen und somit der Bodenfruchtbarkeit führen. Degradierte Böden werden wiederhergestellt und aufgewertet, damit sie ihre standorttypischen Funktionen wieder erfüllen können. Bis 2030 wird der Bodenverbrauch im Vergleich zu 2020 um einen Drittel reduziert. Ab 2050 geht netto kein Boden mehr verloren.

Internationales Unterziel 15.3: Bis 2030 die Wüstenbildung bekämpfen, die geschädigten Flächen und Böden einschliesslich der von Wüstenbildung, Dürre und Überschwemmungen betroffenen Flächen sanieren und eine Welt anstreben, in der die Landverödung neutralisiert wird.

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Umwelt, Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Raum
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz
Tel.
+41 58 485 64 96

Von Montag bis Freitag
09.00–12.00 Uhr und 14.00–16.00 Uhr

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/nachhaltige-entwicklung/monet-2030/alle-nach-themen/15-leben-land/bodenversiegelung.html