Vocational education and training (VET) - Apprenticeships

Vocational education and training (VET) mainly occurs according to the dual system which combines in-company training (practical part) and a vocational school (theoretical part and general education). It can also take place in full-time school in a small number of cases. VET is completed with the Federal VET Certificate after two years or the Federal VET Diploma after three to four years.

Apprenticeships in vocational education and training by training type, change in numbers since 2000
Training type 2000 2005 2010 2015 2018
Total 203 491 200 166 225 530 221 429 215 531
  Male 117 203 119 970 131 086 128 918 127 223
  Female 86 288 80 196 94 444 92 511 88 308
172 311 178 333 200 162 208 153 201 567
  Male 107 269 109 978 117 278 121 474 118 720
  Female 65 042 68 355 82 884 86 679 82 847
9 881 10 068 12 611 - -
  Male 4 361 4 904 6 692 - -
  Female 5 520 5 164 5 919 - -
- 1 604 8 457 12 946 13 934
  Male -  619 4 651 7 213 8 493
  Female -  985 3 806 5 733 5 441
4 130 4 686 2 020  234 -
  Male 2 843 3 293 1 557  217 -
  Female 1 287 1 393  463  17 -
17 169 5 475 2 280  96  30
  Male 2 730 1 176  908  14  10
  Female 14 439 4 299 1 372  82  20
Source: FSO – Vocational education and training statistics (SBG-SFPI)
Data as of: April 2019

In 2018 the vocational education and training statistics (previously "apprenticeship contract statistics") recorded some 215 500 apprenticeships. The majority of these (around 95%) were vocational training with the federal VET diploma. Vocational training with the federal VET certificate accounted for a little more than 5%. As recently as 2000, the share of VET diplomas was only 85%; the VET certificate had not yet been introduced. Between 2000 and 2018, the other categories decreased considerably. This trend can be explained by the fact that the Federal Vocational and Professional Education and Training Act (VPETA) has been extended to include the fields of agriculture and healthcare. Furthermore, following the 2010 revision, education at the upper-secondary level trade schools is now completely integrated into the vocational education and training. Since 2014, these students also graduate with a VET diploma. The decline in basic vocational education is due to the fact that this has gradually been replaced by the vocational training with VET certificate. In 2018 the percentage of women in vocational education and training is 41%, a figure that overall has not changed since 2000.

The fields of education in which most new apprentices undertake their vocational training are Business and Administration (commercial occupations), Wholesale and retail sales as well as Building and Civil engineering. The new training type "Vocational education and training with VET Certificate” introduced in 2001 accounted for approximately 10% of all admissions to vocational education and training in 2018. The federal VET certificate training type is not evenly distributed across the different fields of education. The highest percentage is found in the field of Domestic services (19% of all apprentices).

Related topics

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Educational Processes
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
Tel.
+41 58 483 93 61

Monday to Friday
09.00-12.00 and 13.30-16.30

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/bildung-wissenschaft/personen-ausbildung/sekundarstufe-II/berufliche-grundbildung-lehrverhaeltnisse.html

Berufliche Grundbildung - Lehrverhältnisse

Die berufliche Grundbildung erfolgt mehrheitlich nach dem dualen System, bei dem die Ausbildung in einem Lehrbetrieb durch eine theoretische Ausbildung und Allgemeinbildung an der Berufsfachschule ergänzt wird. Sie kann in wenigen Fällen auch als vollschulische Ausbildung absolviert werden. Die berufliche Grundbildung wird nach drei oder vier Jahren mit einem eidgenössischen Fähigkeitszeugnis (EFZ) oder nach zwei Jahren mit einem eidgenössischen Berufsattest (EBA) abgeschlossen.

Lehrverhältnisse in der beruflichen Grundbildung nach Ausbildungstyp: Entwicklung seit 2000
Ausbildungstyp 2000 2005 2010 2015 2018
Total 203 491 200 166 225 530 221 429 215 531
  Männer 117 203 119 970 131 086 128 918 127 223
  Frauen 86 288 80 196 94 444 92 511 88 308
172 311 178 333 200 162 208 153 201 567
  Männer 107 269 109 978 117 278 121 474 118 720
  Frauen 65 042 68 355 82 884 86 679 82 847
9 881 10 068 12 611 - -
  Männer 4 361 4 904 6 692 - -
  Frauen 5 520 5 164 5 919 - -
- 1 604 8 457 12 946 13 934
  Männer -  619 4 651 7 213 8 493
  Frauen -  985 3 806 5 733 5 441
4 130 4 686 2 020  234 -
  Männer 2 843 3 293 1 557  217 -
  Frauen 1 287 1 393  463  17 -
17 169 5 475 2 280  96  30
  Männer 2 730 1 176  908  14  10
  Frauen 14 439 4 299 1 372  82  20
Quelle: BFS – Statistik der beruflichen Grundbildung (SBG-SFPI)
Stand: April 2019

2018 wurden in der Statistik der Beruflichen Grundbildung (früher „Lehrvertragsstatistik“) rund 215 500 Lehrverhältnisse registriert. Den höchsten Anteil erreichten mit fast 95% die Beruflichen Grundbildungen mit EFZ (Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis). Die Beruflichen Grundbildungen mit EBA (Eidgenössisches Berufsattest) kamen auf einen Anteil von über 5%. Noch im Jahr 2000 lag der Anteil der EFZ erst bei rund 85%, die EBA-Stufe existierte damals noch nicht. Die anderen Kategorien sind in der Periode 2000-2018 stark zurückgegangen. Diese Entwicklung ist auf die Erweiterung des Berufsbildungsgesetz (BBG) auf die Bereiche Landwirtschaft und Gesundheit zurückzuführen. Zudem wurden die Handelsmittelschulausbildungen nach der Revision 2010 vollständig in die berufliche Grundbildung integriert und schliessen seit 2014 ebenfalls mit einem EFZ ab. Der Rückgang der Anlehren ist damit zu erklären, dass diese fortlaufend durch die berufliche Grundbildungen mit EBA ersetzt wurden. Der Frauenanteil beträgt 2018 bei der beruflichen Grundbildung 41%, er hat sich insgesamt seit 2000 kaum verändert.

Die Ausbildungsfelder, in denen die meisten Lernenden in ihre berufliche Grundbildung eintreten, sind Wirtschaft und Verwaltung (kaufmännische Berufe), Gross- und Einzelhandel (Verkaufsberufe), und das Baugewerbe. Der 2001 neu eingeführte Ausbildungstyp „Berufliche Grundbildung mit Eidg. Berufsattest“ (EBA) erreichte 2018 einen Anteil von rund 10% aller Eintritte in die Berufliche Grundbildung. Die EBA-Ausbildungen sind nicht in allen Branchen gleich stark vertreten. Der höchste Anteil ist im Ausbildungsfeld Hauswirtschaftliche Dienste (19% des Gesamtbestands), zu finden.

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellen

Daten

Publikationen

Medienmitteilungen

Verwandte Themen

Grundlagen und Erhebungen

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Bildungsprozesse
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz
Tel.
+41 58 483 93 61

Von Montag bis Freitag
09.00-12.00 Uhr und 13.30-16.30 Uhr

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/bildung-wissenschaft/personen-ausbildung/sekundarstufe-II/berufliche-grundbildung-lehrverhaeltnisse.html