General education

In 2019/20, almost 111 100 students were enrolled in a general education programme. 59% of them were young women and 20% were of foreign nationality. The majority of students enrolled in this type of education are in a school leading to an academic Baccalaureate (64%) or in an upper secondary specialised school (19%, including specialised Baccalaureate).

Students in general education programmes, change in numbers since 2000/01
  2000/01 2005/06 2010/11 2015/16 2019/20
Total 86 200 87 407 99 659 106 298 111 085
  Female (%) 58.8 59.1 58 58.5 58.9
  Foreign (%) 11.1 12.5 16.9 19.3 20.1
3 215 5 288 7 572 9 496 9 922
  Female (%) 31 44.8 47.6 48.7 50.2
  Foreign (%) 13.7 10.1 7.7 9.6 9.9
66 888 68 040 70 821 70 501 71 300
  Female (%) 55 56.4 56.2 57 57.6
  Foreign (%) 10.9 12 11.8 13.6 14.8
9 368 13 041 13 059 14 890 17 145
  Female (%) 79.9 78.4 75 73.2 70.7
  Foreign (%) 17.7 16.6 19.9 21.9 21.4
. . 1 465 2 824 3 591
  Female (%) . . 81.6 78.3 75.7
  Foreign (%) . . 11.9 16.6 14.7
5 993  332 . . .
  Female (%) 83.4 82.2 . . .
  Foreign (%) 2 2.4 . . .
736 706 522 761 698
  Female (%) 56.7 59.5 58.2 54.5 52.9
  Foreign (%) 9.9 9.5 15.5 14.3 17.5
. . 6 220 7 826 8 429
  Female (%) . . 50.2 50 49.9
  Foreign (%) . . 81.7 78.3 77.7
1 Federal vocational baccalaureate after vocational education and training (VB2) Source: FSO – Statistics on pupils and students (SDL)
Data as of: February 2021

General education covers the three types of baccalaureate as well as courses in one of the upper secondary specialised schools. The academic Baccalaureate is awarded, depending on the canton, after three or four years, the vocational Baccalaureate is awarded either during or after initial vocational education and the specialised Baccalaureate is awarded one year after the specialised diploma.
Overall, the number of young people enrolled in a general education course rose by 29% between 2000/01 and 2019/20. Compared to the previous year, the general trend in the number of students was stable (+1.1%).

The three specific options most frequently chosen in baccalaureate schools in 2019/20 were Economy and law, Biology and chemistry and Modern Language. The Physics and applied mathematics option showed the greatest proportion of young men whereas the Visual arts option was chosen mainly by young women.

The three occupational fields with the most students in upper secondary specialised schools (including specialised baccalaureate) were Health care, Education and Social work. With two exceptions (Sport and Natural Sciences), young women are in the majority in all courses in this type of school.

With regard to post-apprenticeship vocational Baccalaureates, the options1 Economy and services, Health/social care and Technology, architecture, life sciences are the most popular. The Technology, architecture, life sciences option shows the highest percentage of young men, the Health/social care one the highest percentage of young women.

1 New options according to BMV (Federal vocational Baccalaureate Ordinance) 2009 collected from 2015/16

Related topics

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Educational Processes
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
Tel.
+41 58 483 93 61

Monday to Friday
09.00-12.00 and 13.30-16.30

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/bildung-wissenschaft/personen-ausbildung/sekundarstufe-II/ausbildungen.html

Allgemeinbildende Ausbildungen

Im Schuljahr 2019/20 absolvierten rund 111 100 Lernende eine allgemeinbildende Ausbildung. 59% der Lernenden waren junge Frauen und 20% ausländische Staatsangehörige. Die Mehrheit der Lernenden dieser Ausbildung besuchten eine gymnasiale Maturitätsschule (64%) oder eine Fachmittelschule (19%, einschliesslich Fachmaturität).

Lernende der allgemeinbildenden Ausbildung: Entwicklung seit 2000/01
  2000/01 2005/06 2010/11 2015/16 2019/20
Total 86 200 87 407 99 659 106 298 111 085
  Frauen (%) 58,8 59,1 58 58,5 58,9
  Ausländer/innen (%) 11,1 12,5 16,9 19,3 20,1
3 215 5 288 7 572 9 496 9 922
  Frauen (%) 31,0 44,8 47,6 48,7 50,2
  Ausländer/innen (%) 13,7 10,1 7,7 9,6 9,9
66 888 68 040 70 821 70 501 71 300
  Frauen (%) 55,0 56,4 56,2 57,0 57,6
  Ausländer/innen (%) 10,9 12,0 11,8 13,6 14,8
9 368 13 041 13 059 14 890 17 145
  Frauen (%) 79,9 78,4 75,0 73,2 70,7
  Ausländer/innen (%) 17,7 16,6 19,9 21,9 21,4
. . 1 465 2 824 3 591
  Frauen (%) . . 81,6 78,3 75,7
  Ausländer/innen (%) . . 11,9 16,6 14,7
5 993 332 . . .
  Frauen (%) 83,4 82,2 . . .
  Ausländer/innen (%) 2,0 2,4 . . .
736 706 522 761 698
  Frauen (%) 56,7 59,5 58,2 54,5 52,9
  Ausländer/innen (%) 9,9 9,5 15,5 14,3 17,5
. . 6 220 7 826 8429
  Frauen (%) . . 50,2 50,0 49,9
  Ausländer/innen (%) . . 81,7 78,3 77,7
1 Berufsmaturität nach der beruflichen Grundbildung (BM2) Quelle: BFS – Statistik der Lernenden (SDL)
Stand: Februar 2021

Die allgemeinbildenden Ausbildungen umfassen die drei Maturitätstypen und die Fachmittelschulausbildung. Die gymnasiale Maturität wird je nach Kanton in drei oder vier Jahren erworben, die Berufsmaturität wird entweder während der beruflichen Grundbildung oder nach deren Abschluss erlangt und die Fachmaturität ein Jahr nach dem Fachmittelschulabschluss.
Die Zahl der Jugendlichen in einer allgemeinbildenden Ausbildung nahm zwischen 2000/01 und 2019/20 insgesamt um 29% zu. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr ist die allgemeine Entwicklung der Bestände stabil geblieben (+1,1%).

Die drei in den gymnasialen Maturitätsschulen am häufigsten gewählten Schwerpunktfächer im Schuljahr 2019/20 waren Wirtschaft und Recht, Biologie und Chemie und Eine moderne Sprache. Das Schwerpunktfach Physik und Anwendungen der Mathematik wurde mehrheitlich von Männern belegt, während es sich beim Bildnerischen Gestalten eher um eine weibliche Domäne handelt.

Die drei häufigsten Richtungen in Fachmittelschulen (einschliesslich Fachmaturität) waren Gesundheit, Pädagogik und Soziale Arbeit. Von zwei Ausnahmen abgesehen (Sport und Naturwissenschaften) waren die Frauen in allen Richtungen dieses Schultyps in der Mehrheit.

Bei den Berufsmaturitäten nach der beruflichen Grundbildung stellten die Richtungen1 Wirtschaft und Dienstleistungen, Gesundheit und Soziales und Technik, Architektur, Life Sciences die höchsten Anteile. Der höchste Anteil an Männern befand sich in der Richtung Technik, Architektur, Life Sciences der höchste Anteil an Frauen in der Richtung Gesundheit und Soziales.

1 Neue BM-Richtungen nach BMV (Verordnung über die eidg. Berufmaturität) 2009 ab 2015/16 erhoben.

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellen

Daten

Verwandte Themen

Grundlagen und Erhebungen

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Bildungsprozesse
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz
Tel.
+41 58 483 93 61

Von Montag bis Freitag
09.00-12.00 Uhr und 13.30-16.30 Uhr

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/bildung-wissenschaft/personen-ausbildung/sekundarstufe-II/ausbildungen.html