Spatial dissimilarity index

This indicator provides information on the spatial distribution of different population groups. It measures the concentration, or the dispersion, with which persons belonging to these groups are distributed in different spatial units. 

From an integration perspective, a decrease in the spatial dissimilarity index indicates an improved situation.

Definitions

The spatial dissimilarity index developed by Duncan and Duncan measures a group's distribution in spatial units and in theory ranges from 0 (perfectly even distribution) to 1 (maximum segregation distribution).  The index value shows the proportion of the group that would have to be moved to achieve perfectly even distribution in the observed geographic area.

Methodologies

The index is calculated as follows:

With ti = Total population in the spatial unit i; T = Total population in observed area; pi = proportion of group in spatial unit i; P = proportion of the group in observed area; xi = proportion of group X in spatial unit i; X = population from group X in observed area; n= Number of spatial units in observed area.

The political and administrative spatial sub-units on which the calculations are based are neighbourhoods in large towns and communes for cantons and larger urban zones.

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Demography and Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/integrationindikatoren/sozialer-zusammenhalt/dissimilaritaetsindex.html

Räumlicher Dissimilaritätsindex

Dieser Indikator gibt Auskunft über die räumliche Verteilung verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen. Er misst die Konzentration bzw. die Streuung von Personen, die diesen Gruppen angehören, in verschiedenen räumlichen Einheiten.

Im Hinblick auf die Integration weist eine Verringerung des räumlichen Dissimilaritätsindexes auf eine Verbesserung hin.

Tabellen

Definitionen

Der räumliche Dissimilaritätsindex von Duncan und Duncan misst die Verteilung einer Gruppe in bestimmten räumlichen Einheiten und bewegt sich in der Theorie zwischen 0 (vollkommen gleichmässige Verteilung) und 1 (maximale segregative Verteilung). Die Kennzahl gibt den Anteil der Gruppe wieder, die den Wohnort wechseln müsste, damit eine für die untersuchte räumliche Einheit perfekte Gleichverteilung zustande käme.

Methodologie

Der Index errechnet sich folgendermassen:

wobei ti = Gesamtbevölkerung in der räumlichen Einheit i; T = Gesamtbevölkerung im untersuchten Gebiet; pi = Anteil der Gruppe in der räumlichen Einheit i; P = Anteil der Gruppe im untersuchten Gebiet; xi = Bevölkerung der Gruppe X in der räumlichen Einheit i; X = Bevölkerung der Gruppe X im untersuchten Gebiet; n = Anzahl räumlicher Einheiten im untersuchten Gebiet.

Die politisch-administrativen Raumeinheiten, von denen die Berechnungen ausgehen, sind für Grossstädte die Quartiere und für die Kantone und Agglomerationen die Gemeinden.

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Demografie und Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10

CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/integrationindikatoren/sozialer-zusammenhalt/dissimilaritaetsindex.html