Accused rate by selected offences

This indicator shows the share of the accused resident population recorded by the police for common assault and theft under the Swiss Criminal Code.

From an integration perspective, a decrease in the accused rate by selected offences indicates an improved situation.

Please note: The results should be interpreted with caution as no socio-economic data apart from sex and age is available in the police crime statistics (PCS). This would be important for an in-depth analysis.

In order to compare a group that is relevant from a criminological point of view, the indicator shown here focuses on men aged 18 to 34 who live permanently in Switzerland.

Definitions

An accused person is anyone who is suspected, accused or charged by a penal authority with an offence in a report to the police, in a penal complaint or in a procedural act. However, it should be borne in mind that an accused person is presumed innocent until judgment is passed.

The offences selected for this indicator are:

- common assault (as defined under Art. 123 SCC): any person who wilfully causes injury to the persons or the health of another in any other way;

- theft (as defined under Art. 139 SCC):  any person who for his own or for another's unlawful gain, appropriates moveable property belonging to another person with the object of permanently depriving the owner of it.

When interpreting the data, it should be kept in mind that the police crime statistics (PCS) only includes offences of which it has knowledge. The PCS does not contain statistics on “hidden figures”, i.e. crimes of which the police has no knowledge.

For this reason, the accused rate cannot reflect the actual crime rate but the crime rate calculated, for various groups, based on police reports.

Methodologies

The accused rate represents the number of accused men aged 18 to 34 identified for each of the offences selected during 5 years, calculated per 1,000 inhabitants in the average permanent resident population excluding persons in the asylum process who have been in Switzerland for at least one year (population's arithmetic mean over 5 years): these represent the population most likely to have deviant behaviour with regards to the law.

In contrast to the Population and Household Statistics (STATPOP), persons in the asylum process who have been in Switzerland for at least one year cannot be considered as part of the resident population in the police crime statistics (PCS) because the length of stay is unknown.  

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Demography and Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/integrationindikatoren/sozialer-zusammenhalt/beschildigten-straftaten.html

Quote der Beschuldigten nach ausgewählten Straftaten

Dieser Indikator zeigt den Anteil der Personen, die der einfachen Körperverletzung oder des Diebstahls gemäss dem Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuch polizeilich registriert wurden.

Im Hinblick auf die Integration bedeutet eine Verringerung der Quote der Beschuldigten nach ausgewählten Straftaten eine Verbesserung.

Hinweis: Die Ergebnisse müssen mit Vorsicht betrachtet werden, denn abgesehen von Geschlecht und Alter stehen in der polizeilichen Kriminalstatistik (PKS) keine sozioökonomischen Daten zur Verfügung. Solche wären für eine vertiefte Analyse wichtig.

Um eine aus kriminologischer Sicht sinnvolle Gruppe vergleichen zu können, konzentriert sich der hier präsentierte Indikator auf Männer zwischen 18 und 34 Jahren, die ihren ständigen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz haben.

Tabellen

Definitionen

Als beschuldigte Person gilt eine Person, die in einer Strafanzeige, einem Strafantrag oder von einer Strafbehörde in einer Verfahrenshandlung einer Straftat verdächtigt, beschuldigt oder angeklagt wurde. Bis zur Verurteilung der beschuldigten Person gilt jedoch die Unschuldsvermutung.

Die Straftaten für diesen Indikator sind:

– einfache Körperverletzung (Definition gemäss Art. 123 StGB): wer vorsätzlich einen Menschen in anderer Weise an Körper oder Gesundheit schädigt;

– Diebstahl (Definition gemäss Art. 139 StGB): wer jemandem eine fremde bewegliche Sache zur Aneignung wegnimmt, um sich oder einen andern damit unrechtmässig zu bereichern.

Bei der Interpretation der Daten muss darauf geachtet werden, dass die Polizeiliche Kriminalstatistik (PKS) nur die ihr bekannt gewordenen Straftaten umfasst. Zur Dunkelziffer, d.h. die der Polizei nicht bekannte Kriminalität, enthält die PKS keine statistischen Daten. 

Die Quote der Beschuldigten gibt daher nicht die tatsächliche, sondern die von der Polizei registrierte Kriminalitätsbelastung einzelner Teilgruppen wieder.

Methodologie

Mit der Quote der Beschuldigten wird die Zahl der in den letzten fünf Jahren für ausgewählte Straftaten identifizierten 18- bis 34-jährigen Männer angegeben, errechnet auf tausend Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der entsprechenden mittleren ständigen Wohnbevölkerung, jeweils ohne Personen im Asylprozess mit einer Gesamtaufenthaltsdauer in der Schweiz von mindestens einem Jahr (arithmetisches Mittel der Bevölkerung auf fünf Jahre betrachtet). Letztere stellen die Bevölkerung mit der grössten Wahrscheinlichkeit für ein rechtswidriges Verhalten dar.

Im Gegensatz zur Statistik der Bevölkerung und Haushalte (STATPOP) können Personen im Asylprozess mit einer Aufenthaltsdauer in der Schweiz von mindestens einem Jahr in der polizeilichen Kriminalstatistik (PKS) nicht zur Wohnbevölkerung gezählt werden, da die Aufenthaltsdauer in der PKS nicht bekannt ist.

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Demografie und Migration
Espace de l'Europe 10

CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/bevoelkerung/migration-integration/integrationindikatoren/sozialer-zusammenhalt/beschildigten-straftaten.html