Labour market dynamics: entries and departures, migrations

Labour Market Accounts (LMA) help us understand labour market dynamics. These statistics provide information regarding individual transitions between employment, unemployment and inactivity. The LMA also show migration flows as well as births and deaths. They create a link between labour market statistics and population statistics.

The labour market situation at the beginning of the year is compared with the situation at the end of the year. In the balance, the distinction is made between two groups of movements: on the one hand, the movements within Switzerland (entries and departures of economically active persons), and on the other hand, immigrations and emigrations of economically active persons. The difference between immigrations and emigrations is the net migration.

Labour market accounts 2020

In 2020, Switzerland’s economically active population increased by 0.2%, from 5.344 million at the start of the year to 5.355 by the end of 2020. The increase is due to growth among women (+0.7%, from 2.448 to 2.465 million). Among men, a slight decline was seen (-0.2%, from 2.895 to 2.890 million).

Entries and departures of economically active persons

Between 2010 and 2018, labour market entries (change from “economically inactive persons” to “economically active persons”) exceeded labour market departures (from “economically active persons” to “economically inactive persons/deceased”). In 2019 and 2020, however, more departures than entries took place: In 2020, there was a difference of -6000 economically active persons (275 000 entries compared with 282 000 exits). Since the mid-1990s, women’s labour market entries have greatly exceeded their departures. For the past four to five years, however, the situation has changed and the number of departures has almost equalled that of entries. Among men, entries have largely been offset by departures for 25 years.

Trend in net migration

In 2020, the net migration of economically active persons was 18 000 in total, therefore more persons have immigrated than emigrated. The trend in net migration of the past ten years is a reflection of sustained immigration of foreigners. Between 2010 and 2020, the number of foreign workers migrating to Switzerland was continuously higher than the number of those leaving the country, with a net migration of 17 000 persons in 2020 - a year marked by the COVID-19 pandemic - (-27 000 compared with 2019). Conversely, the net migration of Swiss nationals in the observation period practically always showed a negative balance. In 2019, it still stood at -6000, whereas in 2020, in the course of the pandemic, it was evenly balanced.

Statistical sources and concepts

Contact

Federal Statistical Office Section Labour Force
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Switzerland
Tel.
+41 58 463 64 00

Monday to Friday
9.00–11.30 and 14.00–16.00

Contact

Remark

Our English pages offer only a limited range of information on our statistical production. For our full range please consult our pages in French and German (top right hand screen).

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/en/home/statistiken/arbeit-erwerb/erwerbstaetigkeit-arbeitszeit/erwerbsbevoelkerung/arbeitsmarktdynamik.html

Arbeitsmarktdynamik: Ein- und Austritte, Migrationen

Die Arbeitsmarktgesamtrechnung (AMG) zeigt die Dynamik auf dem Arbeitsmarkt auf, indem sie die individuellen Übergänge zwischen Erwerbstätigkeit, Erwerbslosigkeit und Nichterwerbstätigkeit erfasst. Die AMG umfasst auch die Wanderungen und die natürlichen Bevölkerungsbewegungen (Geburten, Todesfälle) und stellt so ein Bindeglied zwischen den Arbeitsmarktstatistiken und den Bevölkerungsstatistiken dar.

Verglichen wird die Arbeitsmarktsituation Anfang Jahr mit der Situation Ende Jahr. Die Bewegungen werden in der Bilanz in zwei Gruppen unterteilt: zum einen Bewegungen innerhalb der Schweiz (Ein- und Austritte von Erwerbspersonen), und zum anderen Ein- und Auswanderungen von Erwerbspersonen. Die Differenz zwischen den Ein- und Auswanderungen ergibt den Wanderungssaldo.

Arbeitsmarktgesamtrechnung 2020

2020 nahm die Erwerbsbevölkerung in der Schweiz um 0,2% zu: von 5,344 Millionen Personen zu Jahresbeginn auf 5,355 Millionen zu Jahresende. Der Anstieg ist auf die Entwicklung bei den Frauen zurückzuführen (+0,7%, von 2,448 auf 2,465 Millionen). Bei den Männern war die Entwicklung leicht rückläufig (-0,2%, von 2,895 auf 2,890 Millionen).

Ein- und Austritte der Erwerbspersonen

Die Arbeitsmarkteintritte (Wechsel von «Nichterwerbsperson» zu «Erwerbsperson») überstiegen zwischen 2010 und 2018 die Arbeitsmarktaustritte (von «Erwerbsperson» zu «Nichterwerbsperson/verstorben»). 2019 und 2020 fanden hingegen mehr Austritte als Eintritte statt: 2020 lag die Differenz bei -6'000 Erwerbspersonen (275'000 Eintritte gegenüber 282'000 Austritten). Seit Mitte der 90er Jahre liegen die Arbeitsmarkteintritte der Frauen deutlich über den Austritten. Seit vier bis fünf Jahren hat sich die Situation jedoch geändert: die Austritte entsprechen nahezu den Eintritten. Bei den Männern werden die Eintritte seit 25 Jahren grösstenteils durch die Austritte kompensiert.

Entwicklung des Wanderungssaldos

Der Wanderungssaldo der Erwerbspersonen belief sich 2020 gesamthaft auf 18'000 Personen, es sind somit mehr Personen ein- als ausgewandert. Die Entwicklung des Wanderungssaldos über die letzten zehn Jahre widerspiegelt eine anhaltende starke Einwanderung von Ausländerinnen und Ausländern. Zwischen 2010 und 2020 lag die Zahl der einwandernden ausländischen Arbeitskräfte immer über jener der auswandernden. Ihr Wanderungssaldo belief sich im Jahr 2020, das von der Covid-19-Pandemie geprägt war, auf 17‘000 Personen (-27'000 gegenüber 2019). Bei den Schweizerinnen und Schweizern hingegen war der Wanderungssaldo im Beobachtungszeitraum praktisch immer negativ. 2019 belief er sich noch auf -6'000, während er 2020 im Zuge der Pandemie ausgeglichen war.

Weiterführende Informationen

Tabellen

Publikationen

Medienmitteilungen

Grundlagen und Erhebungen

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Statistik Sektion Arbeit und Erwerbsleben
Espace de l'Europe 10
CH-2010 Neuchâtel
Schweiz
Tel.
+41 58 463 64 00

Von Montag bis Freitag
9.00–11.30 Uhr und 14.00–16.00 Uhr

Kontakt

https://www.bfs.admin.ch/content/bfs/de/home/statistiken/arbeit-erwerb/erwerbstaetigkeit-arbeitszeit/erwerbsbevoelkerung/arbeitsmarktdynamik.html