Print this page | Close window
Swiss Statistics

AnalysesSwitzerland's ecological footprint

footprint (Enlargement in new window)Enlargement in new window

The ecological footprint measures the consumption of natural resources by the number of global hectares that would be required to regenerate these resources. To calculate a population’s ecological footprint, the quantity of natural resources consumed by that population are compared to the amount of natural regeneration capacity required to compensate for this consumption. This highly aggregated information (in absolute numbers) is available for regions and countries, as well as the total world population.

 

Switzerland's footprint is more than four times larger than its biocapacity

It currently measures 5 global hectares (gha) per capita. Our country's biocapacity, however, is a mere 1.2 gha per capita.

Switzerland's Ecological Footprint and Biocapacity

Our energy consumption largely determines our ecological footprint

Carbon emissions account for 65% of the ecological footprint, making it the most significant factor overall. It has also grown substantially more than any other factor of the ecological footprint in the last decades. Another major factor is our use of arable land, forests and natual meadows, which accounts for 30% of the total ecological footprint.

Composition of Switzerland's Ecological Footprint, 2009

We are living at the cost of other world regions and future generations

The imbalance between our country’s ecological footprint and its biocapacity has been existing for several decades and continues to grow. This lifestyle is only possible through the import of natural resources and the depletion of global goods (such as the atmosphere). However, this lifestyle is not sustainable, because Switzerland consumes almost three times the amount of natural resources that are available per capita worldwide (1.8 gha).

Switzerland's Ecological Footprint in Comparison to Global Biocapacity

We are consuming the Earth’s natural resources faster than the Earth’s regenerative capacity

In 2009, the world’s per capita ecological footprint is 0.8 gha higher than the world’s average per capita biocapacity. Switzerland’s ecological footprint is on average that of most western European countries. The United States, some Gulf countries and some European countries have consumed more than four times the world’s available per capita biocapacity in 2008. In contrast, the consumption of many countries in South-east Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Africa is much less than the world’s average ecological footprint (see map below).

 

World map: Global distribution of the ecological footprint (Enlargement in new window)Enlargement in new window
World map: Global distribution of the ecological footprint

Method

The ecological footprint is a kind of “resource accounting”

The ecological footprint measures the extent to which humans reduce the Earth’s regenerative capacity (biocapacity). This method calculates our consumption of natural resources, caused by activities such as agriculture, wood consumption or carbon absorption, into the surface area which would be necessary in order to regenerate resources in a sustainable way and to absorb emissions. The ecological footprint is an eloquent way of showing how much productive land or water is needed for a region, a country, or the world population to cover its needs and neutralize its waste. It shows the extent to which consumption of natural resources exceeds nature’s regenerative capacity (biocapacity). If the ecological footprint of the world’s population exceeds the world’s biocapacity, this leads to an over-exploitation of nature and therefore unsustainability.

 

The ecological footprint does not measure everything

The ecological footprint only accounts for the environmental dimension of sustainability, disregarding the social and economic dimensions. Furthermore, it measures the dynamics, but not the state, of the existing natural resources. The ecological footprint does not take into account the destruction of ecosystems, the loss of biodiversity or renewable or non-renewable natural resources. Neither does it take account of fresh water consumption, pollution by heavy metals, or emissions from pollutants of low degradability. The ecological footprint is therefore not an accurate indicator for sustainability.

This method was developed by the Global Footprint Network, and was evaluated in a study published in 2006 by the Federal Offices of Statistics, Spatial Development and Environment, as well as the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation. The study compared data from the Global Footprint Network, which is based primarily on United Nations sources, to the official Swiss statistics for its ecological footprint. The study reveals that the datasets correspond to one another.

The method has been developed further, based on recommendations from this study and government reviews of other nations. The Global Footprint Network publishes updated and new results yearly, including Switzerland’s ecological footprint and biocapacity, as well as the results of 150 other countries.

To the report Switzerland's Ecological Footprint - A contribution to the sustainability debate External website. Content opens in new window.: a publication for the broad public, based on the study "The Ecological Footprint of Switzerland"
Print this page | Close window

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen
Statistik Schweiz

AnalysenDer ökologische Fussabdruck der Schweiz

footprint

Der ökologische Fussabdruck misst den Verbrauch natürlicher Ressourcen und drückt in globalen Hektaren die Fläche aus, die für die Produktion dieser Ressourcen notwendig wäre. Der ökologische Fussabdruck zeigt auf, welche ökologische Produktionsfläche erforderlich ist, damit eine Region, ein Land oder die gesamte Menschheit die eigenen Bedürfnisse decken und die Abfälle neutralisieren kann. Der ökologische Fussabdruck erlaubt eine hoch aggregierte Aussage (in absoluten Werten) darüber, ob die Nutzung des Umweltkapitals nachhaltig ist oder nicht.  


 

Der Fussabdruck der Schweiz ist mehr als viermal so gross wie ihre Biokapazität
Er misst derzeit 5 globale Hektaren (gha) pro Kopf. Die Biokapazität unseres Landes beträgt indes bloss 1,2 gha pro Kopf.

Ökologischer Fussabdruck und Biokapazität der Schweiz

Der Energiekonsum bestimmt massgeblich unseren ökologischen Fussabdruck
Der Verbrauch fossiler Energie macht 65% des ökologischen Fussabdrucks aus und ist damit weit bedeutender als alle anderen Bereiche. Ausserdem ist sein Anteil am ökologischen Fussabdruck jener, der in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten am stärksten gewachsen ist. Mit 30% des gesamten Fussabdrucks stellt allerdings auch unser Bedarf an Ackerland, Wald und Naturwiesen einen wichtigen Anteil dar.

Zusammensetzung des ökologischen Fussabdruck der Schweiz, 2009

Wir leben auf Kosten anderer Erdteile und künftiger Generationen
Das Ungleichgewicht zwischen dem ökologischen Fussabdruck und der Biokapazität besteht in der Schweiz schon seit Jahrzehnten und nimmt stetig zu. Dieser Konsum ist nur dank des Imports von natürlichen Ressourcen und der Übernutzung der globalen Güter (wie Atmosphäre) möglich. Da die Schweiz jedoch rund dreimal mehr Umweltleistungen und -ressourcen konsumiert als global verfügbar sind (1,8 gha pro Person), ist ihr Konsum nicht nachhaltig.

 

Ökologischer Fussabdruck der Schweiz im Vergleich zur Biokapazität der Welt

Wir verbrauchen die natürlichen Ressourcen der Erde schneller als diese sich zu regenerieren vermögen
In Jahr 2009 übersteigt der weltweite Pro-Kopf-Fussabdruck die durchschnittliche Pro-Kopf-Biokapazität um 0,8 gha. Der schweizerische Fussabdruck liegt im Durchschnitt der westeuropäischen Länder. Die Vereinigten Staaten, einige Golfstaaten und einige europäische Länder haben 2008 über viermal mehr Ressourcen verbruchat als weltweit an Biokapazität verfügbar ist. In vielen Ländern des indischen Subkontinents, in Südostasien und Afrika liegt der Verbrauch deutlich unter dem Weltdurchschnitt (siehe Weltkarte weiter unten).

Ökologischer Fussabdruck Karte (Vergrösserung im neuen Fenster)Vergrösserung im neuen Fenster
Weltkarte, globale Verteilung des ökologischen Fussabdrucks

Die Methode

Der ökologische Fussabdruck ist eine Art „Ressourcenbuchhaltung“
Der ökologische Fussabdruck zeig auf, inwieweit der Mensch die Regenerationsfähigkeit der natürlichen Umwelt ausschöpft. Die Methode rechnet unseren Verbrauch an natürlichen Ressourcen (für die Nahrungsmittel- und Fasernproduktion sowie die CO2-Absorbierung) in die produktive Fläche um, die notwendig ist, um die Ressourcen auf erneuerbare Weise bereitzustellen oder die Emissionen zu absorbieren. Der ökologische Fussabdruck drückt also unterschiedliche Konsumformen in ihrem Flächenbedarf aus, gemessen in globalen Hektaren. Er zeigt auf, ob und in welchem Ausmass die Nutzung der Natur die regenerative Fähigkeit der Biosphäre (Biokapazität) übersteigt. Wenn der Fussabdruck der Menschheit die Biokapazität der Welt übersteigt, führt das zur globalen Übernutzung der Natur und ist nicht nachhaltig.

Der ökologische Fussabdruck misst nicht alles
Der ökologische Fussabdruck berücksichtigt nur einen Teil der Umweltdimensionen der Nachhaltigkeit, die Dimensionen Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft werden ausser Acht gelassen. Ausserdem misst der Fussabdruck den Fluss und nicht den Bestand an natürlichen Ressourcen. Der Verlust von Lebensraum, von erneuerbaren oder nicht erneuerbaren natürlichen Ressourcen sowie von Biodiversität, der Süsswasserverbrauch oder die Umweltbelastung durch Schwermetalle und durch die Emission schwer abbaubarer Schadstoffe werden nicht berücksichtigt. Der ökologische Fussabdruck ist somit kein vollumfänglicher Nachhaltigkeitsindikator.

Eine Studie aus dem Jahr 2006 des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS), des Bundesamtes für Raumentwicklung (ARE) und des Bundesamtes für Umwelt (BAFU) sowie der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) hat die Methode des Global Footprint Networks für den Fussabdruck der Schweiz evaluiert. Die Studie überprüfte insbesondere, inwieweit die aus internationalen Quellen stammenden Daten (hauptsächlich der Vereinten Nationen) des Global Footprint Networks der amtlichen Statistik der Schweiz entsprechen. Wie sich herausgestellt hat, stimmen die beiden Datensätze sehr gut miteinander überein.

Auf Basis dieser Studie und Empfehlungen anderer Länder wurde die Methode des Global Footprint Network weiterentwickelt. Das Global Footprint Network publiziert jedes Jahr überarbeitete und aktualisierte Ergebnisse. Diese beinhalten die Berechnungen des Fussabdrucks und der Biokapazität für die Schweiz sowie für 150 andere Länder.

Der ökologische Fussabdruck der Schweiz - Ein Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeitsdiskussion Externe Seite. Inhalt wird in neuem Fenster geöffnet.: eine Publikation für die breite Öffentlichkeit basierend auf der Studie "Der ökologische Fussabdruck in der Schweiz"

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen